An Elegant, Whimsical Beaux-Arts Ballroom Reception with Polish Traditions, Personal Touches

January 26th, 2021

Margaret is an international law attorney from Fairport, NY and Mark is an attorney from Wayne, NJ.

Margaret’s first impression of Mark was genuine, handsome, and intelligent. Mark’s first impression of Margaret was genuine, beautiful, and smart. Their first date was at Teaism in Penn Quarter. Polish people drink a lot of tea, and Mark thought it would be a cute and appropriate idea for a first date, since they are both Polish.

They were engaged on January 20, 2018, in Washington, VA. Mark planned a weekend for them at the Inn at Little Washington, where they were supposed to meet a few of their friends for a dinner and wine tasting to which one of our friends had received an invitation. When Mark and Margaret arrived, he said our friends were not there yet, and suggested they go for a walk around the area while they wait for the friends to arrive. They walked to this open area with a couple of adirondack chairs looking out over a beautiful view. Margaret was tired from and early morning and immediately sat down. Mark asked her to stand up, to which she said “whyyy??” Needless to say, he finally got her to stand up so he could get down on one knee! It turns out that the whole weekend was a setup – his friends were never coming, and he had created a fake invitation to get Margaret to go out there. They ended up having a really nice dinner at the Inn to celebrate their engagement.

They dated for a year before getting engaged and they were engaged for 8 months before getting married. Margaret and Mark are most excited to celebrate and to spend forever together, and to start a new chapter in our lives, with all of our friends and family.

Margaret wore jewelry from her grandmother and her bracelet was a gift from her mom.

The escort card and guest tables were a nod to their honeymoon trip on safari in Sri Lanka with fun elements like the safari animal card holders, which kept things from feeling too serious.

At the very beginning of the reception they honored a Polish tradition by taking a shot of vodka followed by bread, dipped in salt.

Their first dance was choreographed to both Coldplay and La La Land.

Margaret’s favorite wedding detail were the framed wedding photos of parents and grandparents. Mark’s favorite detail were the groomsmen’s bobblehead gifts.

The couple wanted their wedding to have both Polish and American traditions. Their use of soft colors and candlelight made for a classy and sophisticated setting.

It was important to Margaret and Mark for attendees to feel like they were part of the wedding, not just spectators. They kept it personal and spent as much time with their guests as possible. Family members attended all the way from Poland and friends came from Canada, California, and Colorado.

Margaret and Mark spent their honeymoon in the Seychelles exploring a secluded island, Sri Lanka visiting ancient cultural relics and going on safari, then spent time in the United Arab Emirates touring well-known sites in Abu Dhabi.

The newlyweds currently live in Washington, DC.

#onyourmarkgetsetgosh #malgosiaandmark

Planner, Tabitha Roberts, robertsandcoevents.com
Florist, Jill Medawar, Toulies en Fleur, oulies.com
(bridal bouquet of ivory roses; bridesmaid bouquets of Rosita Vendela roses)
Hair Stylist – Remona Soleimani, hairbyremona.com
Makeup Artist – Georgetown Bride, georgetownbride.com
Alterations – Green and Blue Studios, greenandbluedcweddings.com
Bride’s Dress – Lovely Bride, lovelybride.com
Bride’s Ceremony Top – Lea Ann Belter, lea-annbelter.com
Bride’s Reception Top – Jenny Yoo Collection, jennyyoo.com
Bride’s Skirt – Theia Couture, theiacouture.com
Bride’s Shoes, Jimmy Choo from Saks Fifth Avenue, saksfifthavenue.com
Bride’s Veil – J.Crew, jcrew.com
Bride’s Earrings – Kenneth Jay Lane, kennethjaylane.com
Groom’s Suit – Hugo Boss in CityCenter, hugoboss.com
Groom’s Shoes – Allen Edmonds, allenedmonds.com
Groom’s Cufflinks – Tiffany & Co., tiffany.co
Wedding Bands + Engagement Ring – Cartier, cartier.com
Ceremony Venue – St. Ann Catholic Church, stanndc.org
Officiant – Msgr. James Watkins, stanndc.org
Invitations – Minted.com
Reception Venue – Cosmos Club, cosmosclub.org
Transportation – Lasting Impressions, lastingimpressions1.com
Choreographed Dance – Nikki White from Put a Swing On It
Catering – Cosmos Club, cosmosclub.org
(charred Wagyu Beef chef station, hors d’oeuvres, tuna poke, poached pear riesling salad, filet mignon, arctic char, or pumpkin ravioli)
Bride’s Signature Cocktail – Belvedere vodka, St. Germain, lemon juice, Taittinger champagne, rosemary garnish
Groom’s Signature Cocktail – Belvedere vodka, angostura bitters, soda water, sugar cube, orange peel
Cake – Buttercream Bakeshop, buttercreamdc.com
(almond cake with fresh raspberries + Nutella buttercream frosting, red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting)
Entertainment – DJ Enferno of Exclusively Entertainment, exclusivelyentertainment.com

(0) Comments.

Show some Love!

A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous. - Coco Chanel